I’m back! Plus, a (very) mini-review

3 Jan
Well, four months later and I’ve returned to blogland. Let me tell you, having a baby really takes it out of you. What a complete and total turnaround of your life, your time, your energy…I’m still adjusting. However, I’m finally feeling like I can read some books and venture out into the blogosphere again to see what the rest of the world is up to. How I’ve missed it all! So get ready for me to post some more reviews and share some thoughts as this new year gets rolling!

son of the shadows_juliet marillierAs far as my reading goes, there hasn’t been much of it, unfortunately. Endless feedings and lack of sleep have made me more receptive to reruns of Hoarders than to reading, but I’m getting back into it. I did just finish the second book in Juliet Marillier’s Sevenwaters series, Son of the Shadows. Honestly, why is she such a fantastic writer? She’s the kind of author that could make the back of a cereal box mysterious and moody. It’s been about a year since I read the first in the series, Daughter of the Forest, which is brilliant and lovely, and I instantly was catapulted into Marillier’s world of fairy tale retellings, strong heroines, and beautiful atmosphere. Seriously, if you love fairy tales or well-written fantasy, try this series.

3 Responses to “I’m back! Plus, a (very) mini-review”

  1. Rebecca January 3, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

    I’m so glad you’re back! I’ve missed your recommendations (and you). I’ve never read Marillier, but she sounds like my kind of author.

    • Amanda January 4, 2013 at 9:48 am #

      Thanks Rebecca! I feel a little fuzzy trying to get back into the swing of things, but I have a simple plan: 1) read some books, and 2) write about them. 🙂 Seems easy when I think about it like that.

  2. Bowrag June 9, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    Welcome back!!

Leave a comment