Harry Potter, the second time around

9 Jul
Guided by some stellar advice from a friend, I decided to reread the Harry Potter series. Is there a more enchanting, whimsical series to read? I’m totally brought back to the first time I read this series, how I waited for each book to be released and then bought them in hardback because I just couldn’t wait. I’m even magically transported to the time in my life when I was reading these books – ah, good ol’ college. And because I’ve read them all and seen the movies, I feel no urge to rush through them. I’m just taking my time, basking in the glow of Hagrid and Diagon Alley and Professor McGonagall. (I have a deep, burning NEED to visit Diagon Alley. The idea of shopping for all those magical instruments and ingredients sounds sooo amazing.)

I don’t know if this is a universal opinion or not, but I LOVED the series debut, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I loved being introduced to the magical world alongside Harry. I mean, is there any better fantasy than being horribly mistreated and unloved all your life, then suddenly finding out how special and important you are? Poor Harry is abominably treated by the Dursleys, who I loathe with every ounce of myself. And then, glorious Hagrid shows up and whisks Harry away to learn about pictures that move, Quidditch, chocolate frogs that jump, and of course Hogwarts. And Harry finally gets friends! Just totally heartwarming and exciting.

I’m currently on the last 30 or so pages of the second book in the Harry Potter series, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I like this one too, though not as much, and I can’t tell if that’s because I owned the movie adaptation of this book and have seen it a hundred times, so maybe I’m just bored with it? Or, because of the snakes. I have a terrible, terrible phobia of snakes, and the creepiness of the basilisk just squick me out. It reminds me of a news story I read a few years ago about how scientists had found a prehistoric skeleton of a snake the size of a bus. A BUS. I think I still have the creepy crawlies from reading that.

I’m looking forward to the next book in the series, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, which I remember being my favorite. Maybe I should do a simultaneous watch-along with the movies as well? That way, I’d be able to see Gary Oldman, who plays Sirius, soon. Nothing wrong with that!

5 Responses to “Harry Potter, the second time around”

  1. Ang July 9, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    I love, love, love this series. I’ve read it about 3 or 4 times and each time is just as good as the first. I started reading them when the third book was released, so I didn’t have to wait for those ones, but I remember rushing out and buying the last four books as well. I also own them all in hardcover and have contemplated re-reading them again. I think maybe I’ll wait until next year, but I agree – there’s nothing better than Harry Potter.

    • Amanda July 10, 2012 at 8:07 am #

      Oh good, I’m not the only one who gets such comfort from this series!

  2. Anonymous July 9, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    I think you’ve inspired me to read the series again. I loved all the books so much and I would love to be transported to that magical world again!

    • Amanda July 10, 2012 at 8:08 am #

      I say do it! And they’re wonderfully easy to just dip in and out of, if you’re reading other books at the same time.

  3. leeseiden July 11, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    I loved these books too! My kids and I anxiously awaited each subsequent book and I liked each one better than the last – until the final one. That may have been because I was so sad it was ending! I found them inventive, surprising, and suspenseful and they were great books to read aloud. All three of us kept saying “Just one more chapter!” and thinking about them makes me want to read them again, too. So many books, so little time!

Leave a Reply

