Sunday reflections

3 Jun

I thought I wanted to write another review today, since I still have a small stack of finished books waiting for me on my nightstand (this is my procrastination tip, because I am inherently very, very lazy: if I move those books out of my way, into, say, a bookshelf where they belong, I will NEVER write them up. Out of sight, out of mind, and all that. So there they sit, staring at me until I write up reviews for them, after which they can go to their new home on my bookshelf). But alas, I am tired and slightly cranky from hormones and Sunday shopping.

I HATE to shop, especially now that my pregnancy takes a physical toll on me. How can one person be so tired from simply driving to two stores (although one was that behemoth Target, so maybe that counts as 1.5) and doing some Sunday shopping? Sometimes my legs feel like they are actually filled with water balloons or lead, something heavy that prevents me from moving quickly or efficiently. Ugh, and everyone was so annoying with their big carts, all standing in my way. So I came home, ate a ginormous salad with garlic bread, and am now feeling much more content. But I also don’t want to do anything that requires more brain cells than perusing my favorite blogs, so I’ll just give a little update on what to expect on here in the next week or so.

  • Review of Bad Mother by Ayelet Waldman. Waldman writes both fiction and nonfiction, but it was her controversial essay about marriage and motherhood that landed her in the hot seat – she even went on Oprah to defend herself. In her essay, she made the comment that she loved her husband more than her children, and as you can imagine, she was crucified by many, many people, mostly women. I was interested in what she meant by her statement (no context is ever given when that line is quoted), and I was attracted by her reputation as a writer who frequently addresses the overwhelming expectations of motherhood. I’m just getting my feet wet with this whole motherhood thing, but I have to admit I’m a little ambivalent so far toward the whole  attachment parenting thing, and Waldman seemed like a good place to start when exploring some other perspectives on parenting.
  • Review of Tinker by Wen Spencer. Finished this a week or two ago, really loved it at first, got a little frustrated toward the end. I’ll hash that out in a review coming up.
  • Review of Just the Sexiest Man Alive by Julie James. Picked this up on a whim while at the paperback bookstore, since I remember that I’ve read and liked another of James’ books in the past. She writes contemporary romance, which is a newer subgenre for me, since I like the ol’ historical ones usually
  • Review of Follow My Lead by Kate Noble. I’m reading this one right now. Features a beta hero (not my usual forte, but it’s fun to switch it up). Noble is a newer historical romance author, and she’s very, very good. I read a lot of reviews of her work when she released Summer of You a while back and was adored by all the romance bloggers. She’s definitely a must-read author.

 

So that’s what’s coming up on the blog, barring any surprises. I will leave you with a video I saw this morning on Buzzfeed. People, prepare yourself for some tears – if this doesn’t make your heart melt, you are a robot made of bitterness and canker sores.

4 Responses to “Sunday reflections”

  1. Aunt Linda June 3, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    I have started a notebook entitled “Just Can’t Know”, making note of books you review that I would like to read. Still haven’t been able to get my Kindle to work, but did find a fabulous bookstore that sells and buys used books, so I can afford them. It’s enormous, and staffed by great people. I can’t remember if I ever suggested the 3 book series of “Wideacre” by Phillipa Gregory. It’s historical drama/romance, and not for the weak of heart, but so titillating that you can’t stop reading, while your mouth hangs open! I reviewed it at my Fiction Book Club, and all the little old ladies fought over it. Also, do you ever read non-fiction? The best one of those is “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks”, author Rebecca Skloot. It will change your whole thoughts and beliefs about today’s health care and cancer cures. Amazing read, my favorite in the last year. Sorry about the run-on response, but I don’t know if I press enter if it will end it, per FaceBook. The other book I recommend, though, is “Room”. I don’t recall the author, but if you can handle it, it is a fabulous read, as is “We Need to Talk About Kevin”, by Lionel Shriver. Both wonderfully written, though the subjects are difficult…maybe not the best for a mother-to-be, though I know you are strong and can take it. Off to bed soon, ribs still healing, so it’s a challenge getting in and out of bed. Luv Always!

    Oh, look at that, I can hit enter!

  2. Aunt Linda June 3, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    Oh, and that video DID make me sob out loud! I watched it right after seeing a TV show about Neo Nazi’s! Thank goodness I can sleep with that in my mind, and not the hatred. You get what I mean.

  3. Rebecca June 7, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    I keep thinking about Bad Mother since I read your post. I had no clue about Waldman or her quote. I look forward to hearing what you thought of her book.

    Also, I love Aunt Linda just from the comment above. 🙂

    • Amanda June 7, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

      You inspired me! I’m going to sit my lazy self down and write up a review of Bad Mother. I NEED to chip away at this stack of books waiting to be reviewed.

Leave a Reply

