Recap of the plagiarism debacle, a fun link, and upcoming reviews

1 May
Man, I’m kind of glad I was down for the count with moving the last couple weeks because I completely missed the plagiarism scandal in the YA blogosphere. Eeks, I’m not sure if I’m imagining this or not, but I feel like 2012 has had more than its share of bloggy nastiness so far. Apparently, back in January of this year, a very prominent YA blogger plagiarized a few fashion blogs and, after slight rewriting, posted their work as her own. At the end of April, the identity of this blogger was made public on the blogosphere, and A LOT of hootenanny has gone down discussing the whys/wherefores/whodunnits of the situation.

I’m really reluctant to go into too much detail with this, since I don’t love confrontation and other bloggers have discussed it with far more thoughtfulness than I would, but I think I will link to a couple of posts that explain what went down, and leave you to explore the situation as you will. What I do wish is that we could pare down the nastiness. I’m not here to rant on somebody else’s behavior (I do that very well in the privacy of my head), and I’m pretty sure the offending blogger is being punished enough via the public comments and humiliation of being caught. But the back-and-forth blame game that is being acted out in many posts’ comments is just…not nice. Am I totally emotionally naive for not wanting to participate in that? I just feel like life is hard and book blogging, both writing and reading posts, is supposed to be fun and a respite from the stress of my daily life, not an extension of it. I don’t know, I’m probably being very Mary Sue about the whole thing, but it’s worth a look if you’re interested. For an excellent general recap, read Smart Bitches, Trashy Books’ Plagiarism and the Story Siren. And for a really nuanced and well-written discussion of the fallout of the scandal, read Read, React, Review’s My Three Cents on the Story Siren Plagiarism Case. These two blogs offer an intelligent and concise recap of what went down.

Ugh, so that was unpleasant, but it was on my mind. Now that I’ve exorcised that stuff, how about something lighter? I found this article via Buzzfeed. Mental Floss wrote up 19 Fun Facts About Children’s Books and I learned some new tidbits. Like, did you know that Chris Farley was the original voice for Shrek? Or that Jan and Stan Berenstain wrote a sex education book for kids?

Soon, very soon if I can stop being such a lazy ass, I’m going to write up some reviews for Patricia Briggs’ Steal the Dragon and Moon Called, and another book that I’ve finished but I can’t recall the name of (not promising, is it?). Oh, and I’m reading Jo Walton’s Among Others right now, and am loving it, so that’s on the horizon as well.

6 Responses to “Recap of the plagiarism debacle, a fun link, and upcoming reviews”

  1. Aunt Linda May 1, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    What is the YA Blogosphere?

    • Amanda May 1, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

      Natalie from NatsBookNook answered first (thank you!), but it’s the community of bloggers who write reviews about young adult novels. It’s a really popular subsection of book bloggers.

  2. NatsBookNook May 1, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    Ya Blogosphere is the Ya book blogging community as a whole.

    Read, React, Review’s take on it is a good article. I agree with you that its not nice the way some people have taken it, and it saddens me that even something like a book blog, which, like you said, is suppose to be fun can turn into something so stressful. All in all, it boils down to, her readers needing to accept it and move on in one way or the other. If you do not accept what she wrote down as an apology then discontinue reading her blog and subscribing to her feeds. If you do accept it, then just move on. The Story Siren will, I think, never be the same, but there will be enough readers who will do the latter and just move on from it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    • Amanda May 1, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

      Yes, nicely put. When something like this goes down, you can either choose to accept whatever kind of apology is given and continue reading, or not. Part of me can’t help feeling sorry for The Story Siren, even though it was her own actions that brought this on. And I feel for the bloggers who were plagiarized and The Story Siren’s regular readers, who must feel like their trust was broken. All in all, a sad story.

  3. Rebecca May 2, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Drama!

    I like the link to the children’s books facts. I think Dr. Seuss and I have a lot in common from this line:

    Dr. Seuss said he expected to spend “a week or so” writing The Cat in the Hat. It ended up taking a year and a half.

    Been there!

    • Amanda May 2, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

      Serious drama. After briefly addressing it, I’m ready to just sidestep away from it quietly. You and Dr. Suess, huh? Quite a pair. 🙂

Leave a Reply

