Friday fun – dancing edition

9 Mar
Because it’s always a good time to boogie! No, seriously, it is. Stand there and shake it for a minute, and you’ll feel better. It works for me!

It’s the end of a long, exhausting week, and I can’t wait to celebrate. Hence, these lovely dance videos.

First, Jaja Vankova, a dancer I first saw on YouTube when someone forwarded me her video. All I have to say is, yay for female hip hop dancers! It’s sometimes a difficult genre for female dancers to rise in, especially if they don’t dance in an uber-sexualized way. I think Jaja has real individuality, excellent musicality, and some fantastic body control that reminds me of Les Twins. Aha, and I see she’s part of I.aM.mE dance crew. Learn something new every day!

A Day in the Life of a Ballerina is a short piece on one of National Ballet of Canada’s first soloists. I love ballet – I danced it as a teenager and I have never felt such peace and purpose in any kind of movement or exercise since. It’s a beautiful discipline and I really admire those who have mastered it. It’s also a difficult life, and probably not one I would want for myself, but I appreciate those who dedicate their lives to it so I can watch. 🙂

I’m still in a hip hop mood, so I looked up Jaja’s dance crew I.aM.mE (that is seriously so hard to type) and realized Phillip Chbeeb, also known as Pac Man, is in it. He is an amazing popper who was on So You Think You Can Dance a couple seasons ago. I remembered he did an unreal performance with that season’s winner, Jeanine Mason, so here it is. I had to watch this a couple times to fully wrap my head around it. They did this whole routine CHAINED TOGETHER.

5 Responses to “Friday fun – dancing edition”

  1. Rebecca March 9, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    I am seriously impressed with Jaja. As a woman who has attempted (in the privacy of her own office) to do some hip hop moves, I can’t even imagine the skill level and body control she has! (Yes, I know you’re still stuck on the visual of me doing hip hop.)

  2. Amanda March 9, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    You are correct, I AM stuck on that visual now! Well, well, you do moves in your office? You know I’m going to pester you now for a demonstration. 🙂

    • Rebecca March 9, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

      So not going to happen.

  3. PostCollegiate March 9, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    These are awesome videos! Makes me wanna dance at my desk!

  4. Amanda March 9, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    You should do it! I’m sure your coworkers will love it – breaks up the monotony of the day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

