Monday bits and bobs

5 Mar
I work with a woman who says the most charming exclamations, like “oh fiddlesticks!” or “dribs and drabs”. Obviously, working with her for a long time has led to me adopting some of her sayings, like “bits and bobs”. I don’t know, it just makes me laugh. So here’s my little hodgepodge of what’s going on in my reading world this lovely Monday. (It’s not really lovely, but maybe if I say it is, it will become true? Think positive!)

Moving soon

Oh lordy, we are moving once again. Truly, moving house is one my very least favorite things to do. I like to be settled. Grounded. In one place. The past few years, we’ve been moving yearly and it’s taken its toll. But, the reason I mention this now is that I realize I have to contemplate moving my books once again. Is there a way of doing this without breaking my back? I’ve never been able to master the ancient art of packing boxes smartly.

Briar Rose by Jane Yolen

I just started the lovely Briar Rose, written by YA novelist extraordinaire Jane Yolen. I feel certain that I’ve read her works before, but upon seeing her GIANT list of works on her website, I decided to just believe myself rather than wade through them all. 🙂 Briar Rose is part of an adult series of fairy tale retellings edited by Terry Windling. I’ve attempted Tam Lin by Pamela Dean twice and have yet to get hooked, but I’m hoping that this one will be the right fit for me. I adore fairy tales, and Yolen’s idea to use the Sleeping Beauty fairy tale to communicate the horror of the Holocaust sounds brilliant. In fact, it reminds me a little bit of Maus by Art Spiegelman, which I read in high school and really opened my mind to different ways of telling a story. Both books use alternate methods of narration and metaphor to tell the story of the Holocaust.

Leave a Reply

