The Bibliophile’s Devotional by Hallie Ephron

26 Jan
Wow, what a day yesterday. I hardly know how to process it. I was just going along, writing my little book reviews and bits of nonsense for my limited audience, when BAM! The WordPress editors picked my blog to feature on the WordPress homepage in the “Freshly Pressed” section. Ok, listen: prior to yesterday, the most visitors I had ever gotten in one day was 44, a respectable number. Yesterday, I had 1,590 visitors. My mind, it is blown. Not only that, but everyone was unfailingly nice and thoughtful and just lovely. So, thank you to everyone who visited my blog and took a moment to read it, and thank you for being so kind in your comments. I am overwhelmed, but in a good way. 🙂

In my excitement yesterday, I completely forgot to write a new post for today. How’s that for following up on my exposure? However, I’ve hauled myself out of bed early so I could write a little something up. I hope you’ll forgive the slap-dash nature of the blog today.

Over the weekend, my mother gave me an unexpected present (and aren’t they really the best kind?). My mother has been a loyal visitor to the blog, and I think she likes to hear what I’m reading more than anything. In deference to my recent reading slumpishness, she got me The Bibliophile’s Devotional by Hallie Ephron. Now, I lurve books about books – that genre is one of my ultimate comfort reads. I figure most everyone who writes or visits book blogs loves to read books about books; I mean, isn’t that why we’re all here? Because we love to hear and compare other people’s thoughts and experiences about books?

It’s hard to describe the petite and tasteful loveliness of this book. It’s just the right size, with a pale green, smooth cover (I know it sounds weird to talk about the smoothness of the cover, but I’m so tactile and it really does have a fantastic feel). In the “devotional” theme, Ephron discusses one literary classic per day of the year, but knowing me I’m just going to blaze right through it with no thought to reading one per day. There’s a little quote from that day’s book, then several paragraphs of Ephron’s smart and engaging summary and analysis, followed by a brief quote at the bottom. Sometimes the quote is from the author of the book in question, and sometimes, as is the case with Norman Mailer’s The Naked and the Dead, it’s a quote from a contemporary like Gore Vidal (who seems like he HATES Norman Mailer – is that true? I like unexpected snark.). I am so looking forward to whiling away the hours perusing this book and adding titles to my TBR list. So a shout-out and a thank you to my wonderful mother!

6 Responses to “The Bibliophile’s Devotional by Hallie Ephron”

  1. Rebecca January 26, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Congratulations on your amazing success yesterday! I’m so glad Word Press picked your blog, because people need to know about it. I love your reviews!

    I can’t say I’ve every read a book about books. It sounds nice, but it also sounds like it would make me anxious—all those books out there that I NEED to read and so little time and I must get on Amazon right away and order and then get off the computer and go read and read and read. I think it would make me feel like a hamster in a wheel. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1EXcMGqFeK8) Such a different response than you! 🙂

    • Amanda January 26, 2012 at 9:56 am #

      Rebecca! You remembered my very favorite hamster video! Wow, you’ve got quite the memory – that was years ago. Thanks for the laugh in the morning!

      I can see how it would be anxiety-producing, but books about books really have more of a meditative quality about them. I just find them so comforting and relaxing, reading about all the possibilities out there and especially seeing how a book affected a person. But I get your viewpoint too. 🙂

  2. Mary Jo January 26, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Thanks for the shout out. Did I tell you that as I perused the days of the year and their attendant book titles, how many times I said to myself “Saw the movie, didn’t read the book” Yikes!

    • Amanda January 26, 2012 at 9:58 am #

      Haha, considering it takes about two hours to watch a movie compared to a few days (at least) to read a book, I’m not surprised! I was looking in it this morning and saw the Watership Down review and thought of you too. 🙂

  3. Peter January 26, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Just in case you need one more book suggestion, you can borrow Portuguese Irregular Verbs, by Alexander McCall Smith from my Lego-like stack of books next to the bed. A short, funny read.

    • Amanda January 26, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

      Thanks Dad, you know I will. I had no idea you had a secret stash of books!

Leave a Reply

