From the library

20 Jan
Wheee! A few holds I placed earlier this week in my attempt to bust this reading slump came in and I am mega excited. It’s a strange mix of books, but I figure that I don’t know exactly what might be the right trigger to get me back into the swing of things. I recently spent my Powell’s gift card – I’ll do a post on that soon – and these three books were ones that didn’t make the final shopping list cut.

First up, I’ve got A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. I saw this book pop up frequently in several YA bloggers’ 2011 roundup posts at the end of the year, and they universally oohed and aahed over it. It’s a YA novel about dealing with grief and loss. It apparently has a beautiful blend of fantastical and realistic elements and I’m sure it will make me cry. But a girl  needs a good cry now and then, you know?

Next, it’s Elizabeth and Her German Garden by Elizabeth Von Arnim, the author of Enchanted April. It’s a memoir of Von Arnim’s time as a young wife to a Prussian Count, trying to find her identity on a German country estate. It’s not all roses and honeybees – Von Arnim struggled with conventions of the time – but I’m interested to hear how the woman who wrote the gorgeous Enchanted April functioned in real life. Plus, I have a weak spot for gardening literature.

Last, I’m picking up Jane by April Lindner. This book was all the rage a while back – I think I first heard of it through Angieville’s terrific review. It’s a modern retelling of Jane Eyre, one of my very favorite books. I was skeptical at first – Mr. Rochester’s character is portrayed as a rock star – but it is universally loved by bloggers whose opinions I really trust, so I’m going for it.

2 Responses to “From the library”

  1. musingmar January 26, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    I’m a devotee of the library myself. I love the whole process of putting books on hold, and the thrill when I get an email telling me one of them has arrived. Which will it be? I still read actual hard-copy books when I spend time at the beach in the summer (from the small-town library near where we vacation), but at home I now mostly get my library books electronically. Either way, the library rocks!

    • Amanda January 26, 2012 at 9:11 am #

      Three cheers for the library! I mean, it’s books you can read for free! I just love going in there, the smell of the books, the quiet, the limitless choices…sigh.

Leave a Reply

