Just Like Heaven by Julia Quinn

18 Jan
While searching for an image of the book cover, I came across a lot of posters for that unfortunate romantic comedy Reese Witherspoon did with the same title. Eeks, that was not a good movie. Moving on…

I’m in a bit of a reading slump. I can’t seem to settle on anything and I can’t determine my mood – does that ever happen to you? So, when the going gets tough, the tough read a romance novel. Or at least, I do. I’ve always liked Julia Quinn. She doesn’t bring a lot of the sexy times; instead, there’s an emphasis on witty exchanges and relationship-building, all very therapeutic for someone in a slump.

Honoria Smythe-Smith has been following her brother and his best friend Marcus around since she was a child. Marcus, the eventual Earl of Chatteris, has become a part of the Smythe-Smith family, a relief to him since his own family is sparse and not affectionate. Marcus craves the camaraderie and belonging that Honoria and her brother Daniel’s family provides. Fast forward a few years and Daniel has been banished from England due to a duel gone wrong and has charged Marcus with watching over Honoria’s search for a husband. All goes well (though no suitable matches are found, of course) until Honoria decides to call some attention to herself during a house party by attempting to fake an injury. An actual injury to Marcus occurs as a result, and during his rehabilitation process, Marcus and Honoria’s romantic relationship develops.

This was a lovely book with a slowly developing relationship, although they realize their love for each other pretty quickly over a few days. Still, you could say that it had been developing their whole lives. I loved how Honoria and Marcus talked to each other, with real care and tenderness and directness. There’s not a lot of Big Misunderstandings here either, which I appreciate. There is one kerfuffle, but Honoria is more embarrassed by the revelation than angry. I will say, the culminating sex scene was more than a little ridiculous as far as reality and logistics go, but that’s quite all right in a romance, I think.

Alas, my reading slump lives on. I enjoyed Just Like Heaven, but it didn’t really ignite that “oh my goodness, I must read MORE NOW” feeling that I look for. The hunt continues…

5 Responses to “Just Like Heaven by Julia Quinn”

  1. Rebecca January 18, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    Julia Quinn lands on my bookshelf frequently, and every time, I forget that I’ve read her before, but I enjoy her books. I suppose that isn’t very helpful for Quinn as far as building a readership in me, but I do remember her novels being witty and sometimes funny.

    I am so excited that you’re reading One for the Money. I’m interested in what you think of it. And then what you think of the casting for the movie.

    • Amanda January 18, 2012 at 10:12 am #

      I’m reading One for the Money strictly based on your recommendation (well, and the movie looks cute). Don’t you feel powerful?

      • Rebecca January 18, 2012 at 10:18 am #

        I do! I’m glad you’re reading it. I think they’re funny and quick and great for a lot of different moods, and I hope you think so too!

  2. Mary Jo January 18, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    Honoria Smythe-Smith. Really? I love that.

    • Amanda January 19, 2012 at 7:53 am #

      Me too. It’s as if the author said “if we’re going to do British, let’s DO British!”

Leave a Reply

