Let’s pick a non-fiction title…

11 Jan
I was cruising around some of my favorite blogs, and I came upon a helpful link to Kirkus’ Best Nonfiction of 2011 list. Not only is it a great list, but each book has a succinct little review accompanying it. I am hopelessly unable to recall whose blog I found this on, so I apologize for not providing a link back to that blog. If I stumble across it again, I’ll come back and update this post to give credit where credit is due.Since I recently made a promise to myself to read more nonfiction in 2012, this handy dandy list provided by Kirkus gives me a good starting-off point. (And I’m already working on my goal by reading The Fortune Cookie Chronicles, which has given me an almost permanent craving for General Tso’s Chicken.) Take a look yourself for some inspiration by clicking the link above, but here’s a few that immediately stand out to me and which are now on my TBR list.Blood, Bones, and Butter by Gabrielle Hamilton: Ah, a cooking memoir. Guaranteed to both relax me and make me hungry. Gabrielle Hamilton can both write and cook, following in the tradition of my beloved Nigella Lawson and Laurie Colwin, so I’m certain I’ll love this. (Also, and this is totally random, I have a predilection for red covers. I just rearranged my bookshelves and was stunned by the amount of red or orange covers. I have magpie tendencies, I suppose.)

Founding Gardeners by Andrea Wulf: This is one of the strangest premises – Wulf believes that one can interpret the founding fathers’ political ideas and theories through the prism of their horticultural interests. And apparently she does a smashing job of it. I love gardening books (though I am a terrible gardener myself) and I love American political history, so this sounds perfect.

An Unquenchable Thirst by Mary Johnson: A nun’s account of her time spent with Mother Theresa in the Missionaries of Charity order. I love books that focus on what it’s like to live a strictly religious life, probably because it’s so different from my life. I find them fascinating and strangely calming. This one explores the complexities of compassion and charity, and portrays Mother Theresa as more of a normal person than a saint.

Man, I really gravitated toward titles by women, something I do fairly frequently. I’m also noticing that I chose titles that promised to have a calming or soothing effect on me. I was a bit attracted to some of the titles on the war on terror and 9/11 (there were several), but ultimately I felt they would overwhelm or upset me. I do need to learn to expand my horizons a little – oh well, one step at a time.

5 Responses to “Let’s pick a non-fiction title…”

  1. Rebecca January 11, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    Founding Gardeners is such a bizarre concept. I wonder if Wulf had a hard time shopping that to agents and editors or if they were just as intrigued as we are.

    I have a completely unrelated question: Can you make it so links open in a new tab? Is that just one of my pet peeves? I like the separate tab opening, because then I don’t lose my place on your blog and can continue reading and check out the link later. Of course, I can just hold Ctrl down when I click the link, but…I think I’m being too picky. LOL

    • Amanda January 11, 2012 at 9:01 am #

      I swear, I’m trying! The last time you mentioned it, I tried to make that happen and failed. I made it work for my blogroll, but that’s it. I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong, but I like it when links open up in a new tab too. I’ll just have to research that more and figure it out! 🙂

      • Rebecca January 11, 2012 at 9:05 am #

        I mentioned it before? How embarrassing! From what I remember of the brief time I had a wordpress account, there was a button in the settings menu that you had to activate, but since I can’t remember telling you how to format your blog before (God, I’m an ass), I might be misremembering this too.

        • Amanda January 11, 2012 at 9:14 am #

          Aha! I think I may have found the elusive button I needed to press! Hopefully links should open a new window now. And please, you’re lovely – all requests you make are made in the nicest possible way. 🙂 How else will I improve the blog if I don’t get suggestions?

  2. Eva February 4, 2012 at 12:12 am #

    I’ve added An Unquenchable Thirst to my wishlist! 🙂

    (P.S.: you can also open links in new windows by changing the html code. Add target=”” to the bracket that says a href=”http://etc.com”. You can either write “_new” in the quotation marks, or just do a random word.)

Leave a Reply

