Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs

9 Jan
Cry Wolf is the first in Patricia Briggs’ Alpha and Omega series. Now, I read and LOVED When Demons Walk, an early book by Patricia Briggs, but I’ve never read her extremely popular Mercy Thompson series. Many people consider Briggs to be one of the forerunners of urban fantasy, and I’ve been trying to get my mitts on the first in the Mercy Thompson series, Moon Called. (The series is perpetually checked out of the library, and it’s likewise absent in my favorite used bookstore. I think I’ll have to cave in and buy it new.) From what I understand, there is some crossover between her Mercy Thompson series and her Alpha and Omega series, as the series take place in the same reality and some of the characters are present in both.

Anna was Changed three years ago into a werewolf, and she’s struggled to assimilate into pack life. Tortured and abused by her local pack for years, she’s only recently been rescued by Charles Cornick, the son of the Marrok, or head werewolf honcho, and his enforcer (read: assassin). Charles immediately recognized two things about Anna: she was a rare Omega wolf, neither dominant nor submissive, and she was his mate. When Cry Wolf begins, Anna has accepted this turn of events and is moving to Montana to join the Marrok’s pack and begin her life with Charles. Anna and Charles must learn to adapt to each other, and Anna has to overcome her years of abuse and learn what she can bring to her new pack, all while dealing with the various members of her new pack and some kind of rogue werewolf that’s killing humans in the forest.

I’m not gonna lie, it took me a minute to get into this book. I think it’s because it really felt like I’d missed out on some important information, though Briggs makes a valiant effort to get the reader up to speed. First of all, the two main characters had already met, and come to the pretty heady conclusion that they were mates in events prior to the start of the book. Secondly, a HUGE battle has already taken place, with some major consequences for the main characters. To me, that’s some pretty life-changing stuff, and I wish I had been present for it. As it is, I found myself pulled out more than a couple times from the action of the story because I was thinking to myself “wait, what?”. Those who follow Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series, however, will have no problem, methinks.

Briggs is a good enough writer, though, that eventually I felt like I knew what was going on and could enjoy the plot and character development. There’s some pretty awesome characters here, especially Bran, the Marrok and Charles’ father, and Asil, a mysterious and dominant werewolf from Spain. Interestingly, I don’t think Charles or Anna were real attention-grabbers. Not that I didn’t enjoy them, but for me, there were more exciting players afoot. I’ll definitely try the next in this series, Hunting Ground, to see if I can get more on board with Charles and Anna.

2 Responses to “Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs”

  1. Mike Briggs January 19, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    LOL! This series has a very strange “gotcha” — it started as a novella (Alpha and Omega) published in an anothology. The novella was not included in Cry Wolf. See the books page at Hurog.com for a more detailed explanation. The bottom line is that “Book 1” is really “Book 1.5”. If it felt like you were getting dropped into the middle of a story, well, you were! Hopefully, with Hunting Ground, things will improve for you. 🙂

    • Amanda January 19, 2012 at 10:58 am #

      Ha, thanks Mike! I definitely felt like I was missing something. Should have done more research before I started it! 🙂 I love Patricia’s writing, so I definitely am looking forward to reading more from her.

Leave a Reply

