Time for me to read

29 Dec
I have a secret that I haven’t mentioned yet: in addition to the books I got for Christmas, and my regular TBR pile, I went hog wild a few days before Christmas at my favorite used book store. This place is ingenious – you bring in your used paperbacks, trade them in for credit, then you get to apply a percentage of your credit to your purchase of used books. So, get this: the last time I went, I got 12 books for six dollars. You heard me. But now I have a problem. I have eleventy billion books to read, and not enough time to do it.
Hence, today’s post. It is short and sweet, though a bit random. While I hole up and start hacking away at my TBR pile with a smile, you can watch S*** Girls Say, episode 1. It’s fantastic, and sadly, pretty accurate. I’d like to state right away that I only say a few of these things, but I definitely know at least one person who says all of them. My favorite is “could you do me a huge favor?” Guilty. Wait, and also “go into my purse…”

(Man, this thing is going crazy viral. When I went to YouTube to copy the URL for this post, the view count had reach 7 million.)

Also, I forgot to mention another book I got for Christmas from a fantastic family friend (who also provides a huge tin of cookies for the family every year, complete with separate layers for a variety of cookies. Bless.). She gave me Enslaved By Ducks by Bob Tarte, which is a warm and funny look at Bob’s life as a keeper of a menagerie of animals in rural Michigan. I love me some animals, so I’m really looking forward to reading this when I need a pick-me-up. I also have fantasies about quitting my job and living a rural life growing vegetables and whatnot, so I think Enslaved By Ducks will tap into that for me too.

8 Responses to “Time for me to read”

  1. Jill December 29, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    How did I not know you had a blog?? Well, now I shall follow you. Also, that S*** Girls Say video is awesome. I laugh every time I watch it.

  2. Amanda December 29, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Hey you! I started the blog only a month ago, so you’re not far behind. 🙂 And yes, I love that video – the first time I saw it, I thought “oh, who are the stupid girls who say these things” until I realized I say at least 50 percent. Genius.

  3. Rebecca December 29, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Amanda, it’s official: You need to blast the world (or Facebook, or your email friends) with the news that you have a blog! People want to know. I’m addicted to your blog.

    I think the S*** Girls Say videos are funny, and I think there should be a S*** Girls Say about S**** Girls Say, because I swear every woman I’ve talked to about them says something along the lines of “I only say some of these.” Well, Jill, you prove the exception. 🙂

    • Amanda December 29, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

      Deep down I know I say all of these things. Especially “first of all, ew.” That’s my favorite.

      I honestly don’t know how to tell people I have a blog without feeling embarrassed. I know, it’s a flaw. I’m working on it.

      • Rebecca December 30, 2011 at 9:00 am #

        Not a flaw, just modest. I say link a few times to your articles from Facebook, and then people would know. People want to read what you have to say!

        • Amanda December 30, 2011 at 9:12 am #

          That’s a good idea – I’ll give it a try!

  4. ClaireMcA December 30, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    Very funny vid.LOL

  5. Anonymous January 4, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    I use “could you turn it down a little” at least once a night.

Leave a Reply

