What Santa brought…

28 Dec
Well, after way too many cookies, another year’s Christmas has come and gone. I am sitting here, slightly stunned, because it went by so fast. My husband and I have an insane holiday routine where we visit at least four households, and I am rapidly approaching an “I’m too old for this” mentality. Still, in the aftermath of a sugar hangover and a whirlwind of family and friends, I have the comfort of a couple new books in my TBR stack.
I received Little Beeby Chris Cleave from my father – he likes to pick out books blind for everyone, without any kind of requests. I’m only familiar with this book through the cover, as it’s pretty striking and has caught my eye before. I’m loving the back cover blurb for this book, which is intentionally vague. In fact, the copy reads “We don’t want to tell you what happens in this book. It is a truly special story and we don’t want to spoil it. Nevertheless, you need to know enough to buy it, so we will just say this: This is the story of two women.” I don’t know about you, but I think that’s genius marketing. I’m into it.My dad also came through with Bossypants by Tina Fey. I am ecstatic that I got this book! I love Tina Fey – her humor just works for me. I was reading the first few pages last night, and I was laughing at almost every sentence. Out loud. That’s really not usual for me. So far, my favorite part has to do with Tina’s first gynecological exam and the dreaded speculum. All women know the horror of the speculum. I laughed for at least two minutes straight.

And courtesy of my mother, a Powell’s gift card! Huzzah! I now have a preloaded sum of dollars I can use at my very favoritest bookstore. For those who haven’t been exposed to the wonder of Powell’s, it’s an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon that takes up a whole city block. A whole block! I have been there and it is my mecca. Floor to ceiling books, everywhere you look. It’s so big they’ve got it divided into rooms, like the rose room for mystery, the gold room for fantasy, etc. I don’t know if a physical place has caused me this much joy, ever. Time for my to break out the ol’ wish list and exercise this gift card!

2 Responses to “What Santa brought…”

  1. Rebecca December 28, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    I really want to read Bossypants! I had the opportunity to get the library Kindle edition, but I was too swamped to even attempt to read it in the limited time I could have it, so I had to pass. Maybe I can find the print copy at one of the libraries nearby now that my time is freeing up. I love books that make me laugh out loud!

  2. Amanda December 29, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    I’m putting my review of Bossypants up tomorrow. I don’t think you’ll be surprised by how much I love it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

