Hello YouTube, My Old Friend: Graham Norton Show

9 Dec
Okay, it’s Friday, and two things are happening here: Fridays are always good for something light-hearted, and I need a laugh. Therefore, I have a quick remedy in mind: the Graham Norton Show. What, you don’t know of it? Well. It’s a celebrity interview show in the UK hosted by Graham Norton, who is a very silly, quick-witted Irishman. I would watch him just for himself, but he gets all sorts of famous and random guests – Robert Pattinson, Kate Winslet, Lady Gaga, etc. And it’s a panel show, so he brings them all out at the beginning, and they all just sit around and chat. I mean, he interviews them, but in bits and pieces, and everyone is interacting together. It’s a recipe for fabulousness: either everyone has chemistry and magic ensues, or sometimes the mix is just too weird, and again magic ensues.

Let me give you some examples of hilarity. Perhaps the best guest of all time on Graham Norton? Ricky Gervais. Now, some people think he’s kind of a d-bag after he was slightly mean to the celebrities when he hosted the Golden Globes last year. But those people are wrong. He’s fabulous and funny, and if celebrities can’t afford to be teased every now and then, then they’re taking themselves too seriously. And anyway, he’s hosting again this year, so he wins.
Here he is with his writing partner Stephen Merchant (if you watched the British version of The Office, you might recognize him), trying to get him to do a cartwheel. I don’t know why this amuses me so much, but it does.

As I mentioned before, you can get serious magic with random configurations of guests on a panel show. Here’s Lady Gaga and Gwyneth Paltrow talking about fashion mishaps.

Strangely, sometimes he uses his computer during the show to show the guests funny things. You wouldn’t think that would work, but it does. Here he is doing google searches with Robert Downey Jr.

I know, it’s weird that I watch this show on YouTube. But it makes me laugh! And that rounds up a very random Friday post. Have a good weekend, kids!

One Response to “Hello YouTube, My Old Friend: Graham Norton Show”

  1. Lindsay December 10, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    My favorite is the googling one! So funny. Thanks for giving me a new pastime.

Leave a Reply

