Lurk no more

28 Nov
I have something to confess. I’m a lurker. I have been for years. I peruse my favorite blogs and websites, laugh over everyone’s exploits, commiserate over tragedies, and never say a word. I don’t know why I was so afraid to speak up – what if I said something stupid? What if someone read my comment and thought “Oh, what a moron.” And worse, what if they told me so?

But recently I thought, “I’m always saying stupid things right to people’s faces, so what’s the big deal?” I get this kind of verbal diarrhea at parties and events, where I cannot stand to have empty silences in conversations. My remedy? Blurt out something, anything, and invariably what I blurt out is something embarrassing, something I previously told myself NEVER to tell anyone. I frequently apologize to my husband for telling everyone that story. He’s very forgiving.

So here is my preemptive apology: I will probably say something off-color that I’ll regret later on. Don’t worry, I won’t offend you. More likely, I’ll just embarrass myself and you’ll feel sorry for me while you chuckle. But then we’re all friends here, right?

One Response to “Lurk no more”

  1. Lauren December 1, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Amanda…I love you so much! I love everything you’ve written here so far, and I cannot wait to read more! Keep it coming, honey. 🙂

    P.S. Your verbal diarrhea is my favorite! (Does that sound gross?!) I wouldn’t want that to change for anything. It brings out your realness…and some laughs, as well!

Leave a Reply

